Novel view of the architecture of the non-catalytic n-terminal region of ATP-dependent lona proteases

Rotanova T.V.1 , Melnikov E.E.1

1. Shemyakin-Ovchinnikov Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences
Section: Short Communication
DOI: 10.18097/PBMC20105603412      PubMed Id: 20695221
Year: 2010  Volume: 56  Issue: 3  Pages: 412-419
ATP-Dependent Lon proteases are components of the protein quality control system, which maintains a keeping of cellular proteome. Lon family consists of two subfamilies A and B, differing in subunit architecture and intracellular location. The reinterpretation of the domain organization of the non-catalytic N-terminal region of ATP-dependent LonA proteases is proposed. Using Escherichia coli LonA protease (EcLon) as an example it has been shown that a fragment (αN-domain), which is located between the N-terminal domain and the ААА+ module of that protein, is similar to the α1-domain of the first ААА+ module of chaperone-disaggregase ClpB. A coiled-coil (СС) region included in the αN-domain of LonA is similar to the M domain of ClpB chaperones, which is inserted into the α1-domain. This region is suggested to adopt the structure similar to the propeller-like (PL) domain. The typical architecture of the N-terminal region of LonA proteases is postulated to be characterized by the obligatory presence of a PL domain, included in the αN-domain, but may vary in the length and topology of the preceding N-terminal domain.
Download PDF:  
Keywords: AAA+ proteins, ATP-dependent proteolysis, Lon protease, ClpB chaperones, propeller-like domain, coiled-coil region

Rotanova, T. V., Melnikov, E. E. (2010). Novel view of the architecture of the non-catalytic n-terminal region of ATP-dependent lona proteases. Biomeditsinskaya Khimiya, 56(3), 412-419.
This paper is also available as the English translation: 10.1134/S1990750810040141
 2024 (vol 70)
 2023 (vol 69)
 2022 (vol 68)
 2021 (vol 67)
 2020 (vol 66)
 2019 (vol 65)
 2018 (vol 64)
 2017 (vol 63)
 2016 (vol 62)
 2015 (vol 61)
 2014 (vol 60)
 2013 (vol 59)
 2012 (vol 58)
 2011 (vol 57)
 2010 (vol 56)
 2009 (vol 55)
 2008 (vol 54)
 2007 (vol 53)
 2006 (vol 52)
 2005 (vol 51)
 2004 (vol 50)
 2003 (vol 49)