Qualitative difference of mitochondrial subproteoms of brain RPN10- and RPN13-binding proteins

Buneeva O.A.1 , Kopylov A.T.1, Medvedev A.E.1

1. Institute of Biomedical Chemistry, Moscow, Russia
Section: Experimental Study
DOI: 10.18097/PBMC20206602138      PubMed Id: 32420894
Year: 2020  Volume: 66  Issue: 2  Pages: 138-144
Good evidence exists that the ubiquitin-proteasome system (UPS) plays an important role in degradation of mitochondrial proteins and membrane proteins associated with mitochondria (MAM proteins). Mitochondria contain all components of the ubiquitin-conjugating system, which are necessary for the attachment of ubiquitin molecules to target proteins, subjected to subsequent degradation in proteasomes. An important stage in the delivery of proteins for proteolytic degradation in proteasomes is their interaction with ubiquitin receptors located on the regulatory subunit (19S) of the proteasome: the Rpn10 or Rpn13 subunit. These subunits make basically the same contribution to the subsequent translocation of target proteins to the core part of the proteasome. A comparative study of mouse brain mitochondrial subproteomes bound to Rpn10 and Rpn13 subunits revealed a high specificity of the repertoire of Rpn10 and Rpn13-binding proteins. Moreover, proteins, for which mitochondrial localization or association with mitochondrial membranes was previously shown, prevailed in the case of using the Rpn13 subunit as an affinity ligand (Rpn13-binding proteins). This suggests that Rpn10 and Rpn13 play different roles in the degradation of mitochondrial proteins and MAM.
Download PDF:  
Keywords: ubiquitin-proteasome system, Rpn10- and Rpn13-binding proteins, mitochondrial fraction of the brain, subproteome

Buneeva, O. A., Kopylov, A. T., Medvedev, A. E. (2020). Qualitative difference of mitochondrial subproteoms of brain RPN10- and RPN13-binding proteins. Biomeditsinskaya Khimiya, 66(2), 138-144.
This paper is also available as the English translation: 10.1134/S1990750820040034
 2024 (vol 70)
 2023 (vol 69)
 2022 (vol 68)
 2021 (vol 67)
 2020 (vol 66)
 2019 (vol 65)
 2018 (vol 64)
 2017 (vol 63)
 2016 (vol 62)
 2015 (vol 61)
 2014 (vol 60)
 2013 (vol 59)
 2012 (vol 58)
 2011 (vol 57)
 2010 (vol 56)
 2009 (vol 55)
 2008 (vol 54)
 2007 (vol 53)
 2006 (vol 52)
 2005 (vol 51)
 2004 (vol 50)
 2003 (vol 49)